OUTDOOR CHANNEL UNVEILS Q1 PROGRAMMING 1-9-2013

     Nine New Series, Including Three Originals, Join More Than

60 Returning Favorites with all New Episodes

 Temecula, Calif. – January 08, 2013 – Outdoor Channel, America’s Leader In Outdoor channel logoOutdoor TV, today unveiled its Q1 programming slate. With nine new series, including originals such as “Elite Tactical Unit: S.W.A.T.,” “King of the Spring” and “Bottom Feeders,” and more than 60 returning favorites premiering with all new episodes, such as “Jacks Link’s Major League Fishing,” Outdoor Channel has a new slate of programming that will appeal to the outdoor adventure enthusiast.

As Outdoor Channel continues to offer character-driven reality programming with the debut of the new original series “Elite Tactical Unit: S.W.A.T.,” [January 9th at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT] featuring a fierce competition between special weapons and tactics operators made up of active-duty U.S. S.W.A.T. officers. Hosted by Mykel Hawke, and team leaders Terry Schappert and Adam Hamon.

 “King of the Spring,” [January 1st at 10:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. CT] another competitive reality show, pairs hunting legends and brothers Mark and Terry Drury as they each lead a team of celebrity and industry leaders, including Rascal Flatts singer Gary LeVox; St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Kyle McClellan; founder of outdoor lifestyle company Mossy Oak, Toxey Haas; and Outdoor Channel’s very own CEO, Tom Hornish, in pursuit of twelve turkeys in only three weeks.

 The unique tournament-style bass fishing competition, “Jacks Link’s Major League Fishing” (MLF) [January 3rd at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT], is back for another season. With new rules and no limits, and season one winner Brent Ehrler ready to challenge top professional bass anglers comprising of the Major League Fishing team, this year’s Summit Cup is anyone’s game.

“Anchored by ‘Major League Fishing’ and ‘Bottom Feeders,’ in addition to ‘Elite Tactical Unit: S.W.A.T.’ and ‘King of the Spring,’ we have an explosive first quarter full of originals that are intended to bring outdoor enthusiasts unique competitions, intense drama and a behind the scenes look at the action and talent,” said Tom Hornish, President and CEO, Outdoor Channel.

The new original series “Bottom Feeders,” [January 3rd at 11 p.m. ET/10 p.m. CT] follows the commercial fishermen who spend their days searching lakes and rivers for invasive species that are threatening the sport fishing business. Watch as they battle Mother Nature to clean up our waterways of unwanted fish, while putting food on the table for their families.

 For even more fishing action with anglers Kevin VanDam, Edwin Evers and Tim Horton, tune into the series premiere of “The Bass Pros” [January 6th at 5:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. CT], premiering on Outdoor Channel. This how-to series is dedicated to all things bass, featuring the latest trends on bait and fishing techniques from some of the same leading anglers seen competing on the water each week on MLF!

 Also bolstering Outdoor Channel’s expansive fishing lineup is fishing expert and personality Byron Velvick with the new series “Byron Velvick’s Guides Eyes,” [January 4th at 6:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. CT] as he seeks out the best fishing guides across North America. And, moving to Outdoor Channel is the “Facts of Fishing” [January 4th at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT] starring self-proclaimed “fishing freak” Dave Mercer. Dave offers viewers a real-time look into an entire day of fishing – from the first cast to the biggest misses of the day. Also joining the programming lineup is, “Lindner’s Fishing Edge” [January 5th at 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT]. Co-hosted by Hall-of-Fame anglers Al and James Lindner and members of the Fishing Edge staff, the show delves into details and angling secrets like never before.

 Returning for another season, “Gridiron Outdoors” [January 5th at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT] features football greats as they go off the field and onto the water, offering fans a unique perspective into these legends. On each episode, host Mike Pawlawski is joined by a special guest, including NFL players Darrell Stuckey, Jarret Johnson, Gerald Sensabaugh, Brandon Weeden and Joe Staley, along with Ohio State coach Urban Meyer and Washington State University coach Mike Leach, as they demonstrate their skills on the water in some of the most serene and memorable fishing locations around the world.

“Since the premiere of its first season, ‘Major League Fishing’ has amassed a tremendous following. Its innovative format, along with the compelling and diverse personalities of the anglers, will certainly appeal to even more sports fans this season,” said Jeff Wayne, Executive Vice President, Programming and Production, Outdoor Channel. “With the addition of ‘The Bass Pros’ and other leading talent in the angling arena, we believe Outdoor Channel is among the premiere destinations for fishing entertainment.”

 “Heartland Bowhunter” [December 31st at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT] documents the adventures of a team of avid bow hunters seeking whitetail deer, Canadian geese and everything in between during their hunts across the Midwest, including Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska, Illinois, South Dakota, and North Dakota. And, for even more archery action, tune into “Arrow Affliction” [January 4th at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT]. Watch as host Chris Brackett brings an unprecedented skill level and infectious enthusiasm to the range as he pushes the limits of what can be struck with an arrow.

Season after season, Outdoor Channel continues to offer a number of themed primetime programming blocks, which combines the network’s top shows with some of the most recognizable brands in the outdoor arena. Among the marquee programming blocks in Q1 are: “MidwayUSA Wednesday Night At The Range,” “Primos Thursday Night Calls Of The Hunt,” “Bass Pro Shops Big Sporting Saturdays” and “Wildgame Innovations Sunday Night on the Hunt.”

About Outdoor Channel

Taking viewers across America and around the world on unparalleled adventures since 1993, Outdoor Channel is America’s Leader In Outdoor TV. Dedicated to the outdoor lifestyle and conservation, the independent cable network is a division of Outdoor Channel Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: OUTD) and provides a complete spectrum of riveting hunting, fishing, shooting and adventure entertainment. Outdoor Channel is received by 38.7 million U.S. households – the largest outdoor TV footprint in the country – and is available in more than 50 countries internationally. Outdoor Channel can be viewed in HD and is accessible by broadband and mobile platforms. For program times and other information, visit www.outdoorchannel.com. Follow us on Twitter and on Facebook, and download our iPhone and iPad app.

 

About Outdoor Channel Holdings, Inc.

Outdoor Channel Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: OUTD) owns and operates Outdoor Channel, America’s Leader In Outdoor TV, and Winnercomm Inc., an Emmy Award winning production and interactive company. Outdoor Channel offers programming that captures the excitement of hunting, fishing, shooting, adventure and the Western lifestyle and can be viewed on multiple platforms including high definition, video-on-demand, as well as on a dynamic broadband website. Winnercomm Inc. is one of America’s leading and highest quality producers of live sporting events and sports series for cable and broadcast television. Outdoor Channel Holdings, Inc. also owns and operates the SkyCam and CableCam aerial camera systems which provide dramatic overhead camera angles for major sports events, including college and NFL football. For more information, please visit www.outdoorchannel.com.

 

Comments are closed.

Photos on flickr

Categories